November 24, 2021

Two Riders Named West Division All-stars 



The Saskatchewan Roughriders are pleased to announce two players have been selected for the CFL’s West Division all-star team. 

The West Division all-stars were selected by members of the Football Reporters of Canada (FRC) and CFL head coaches.  

The 2021 CFL All-Stars will be announced in late December. 



Defensive Tackle 

Micah Johnson has been wreaking havoc in the offensive backfield all season. Arguably one of the league’s best defenders against the run, Johnson has made eight tackles for loss in 2021 – a league best in the regular season. He provided consistent pressure on opposing quarterbacks helping defensive ends AC Leonard and Jonathan Woodard lead the league in sacks. Johnson himself added two sacks to his strong defensive play, while also making 19 defensive tackles, one pass knockdown and one fumble recovery. This is Johnson’s fourth time being named a West All-Star after previously being named in 2016, 2017 and 2018. 




Widely recognized as one of the league’s best cornerbacks, Nick Marshall has earned his first West Division All-Star nod in his third CFL season. Marshall played in all 14 regular season games, making 30 defensive tackles and tied teammate Ed Gainey for a team-high three interceptions, one of which he returned for a touchdown. Marshall also has a team-leading seven pass knockdowns this season.